Coffee Nerd

Posted: September 16, 2015 by hieiyyh2 in Coffee Shop Talk
Tags: , ,

How do you explain to someone who has never drank a cup of coffee in their life the joy you get from coffee……. Simple.  Here we go.

When I was a boy of twelve I asked my mother if I could try her coffee.  We were at my uncle’s house and I sat there cringing at the taste (because my mother drinks coffee with no sugar). But something clicked in my brain, not just the rush of caffeine.  But the taste alone became pleasant the more I drank.  This was back when my mother was a devout member of the clan of Dunkin.  It was smooth and creamy (mostly from the half and half).  As I grew older, I became more and more attuned to the coffee and how I enjoyed it’s taste.  Dunkin claims their coffee is how coffee should be brewed and taste.  Of course they are going to claim that it’s how they get people.

Here is what I have noticed over the years of drinking coffee.

Dunkin Donut: Light Roast blend, smooth to taste, mass produced from their main distribution centers.  Comes in a variety of flavors.  Fast food style making of the coffee, changing coffee regularly to prevent burning (depending on which dunkin you go to.)

Now for Starbucks.  This experience is different for me, I enjoy their coffee immensely.  They come in a range of Light to Dark Roast.  Primarily dark roasts with strong tastes that mimic the coffee styles of Europe.  Their coffee blends come from all over the world from various bean roasters.  Most people who are not used to the dark roast bold flavors will deem this coffee bad (wrongfully) or will deem their coffees too expensive.  It is the specialty drinks that are expensive.  Coffee is cheaper and comparatively priced to Dunkin.

Tim Hortons: This is an excellent light roast blend of coffee from Canada and near the border of Canada.  This is the Dunkin of Canada….. but the coffee is A LOT better.  If you ever go to Canada or Buffalo or a town near the border of Canada….. Find yourself a Tim Hortons and give it a try.

 

Seattle’s Best: This is the sister company to Starbucks and is light roast blends and are Ultra Smooth to the taste.  Like Dunkin and Tim Horton’s.  Also this coffee tastes better than Dunkin.

 

I could go into the Quick Check; Wawa; 7/11 blends but they are good and on the level of Tim Hortons their coffee’s are good but you can add as much cream and sugar or other stuff as you like….

Now for the new comer.  Death Wish Coffee Company.  From Upstate NY (Round Lake to be precise)  They are a dark roast blend…. but unlike a lot dark roast blends….. They are smooth and not bitter to the taste.  They are a fair trade and organic blend of coffee….. and they are the strongest coffee in the world.  Currently Death Wish has Seven blends of Coffee (Original Death Wish; Valhalla Java; Barrel Blend Rum, Wine, Whiskey, Bourbon; Pumpkin)  I have not tasted a coffee that made me feel like that first time Coffee made me feel amazing.  I was hooked from the first cup all over again with Death Wish.

 

If you would like me to review a specific blend of coffee, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

